Dinner, Lunch
Leave a Comment

Daalicious!


Daal

Back by popular demand! Haha….It has been a while since I’ve posted here. Boy, oh, boy have I been slacking. So, I’m back-logged on posts here but some meals are just allowed to cheat the queue. Daal is indeed a privileged dish!

Arrived home from work hungry one day and asked myself what can I eat that’s not going to take much of my time but will still be delicious?? I looked around and there on the counter was a jar of rentils (I just realized I combined red + lentils. I really didn’t meant to do it…but it sounds cool, sooooo) I bought a few days before. I believe I had the idea of daal when I bought them. I looked up a few recipes to see different ways people cooked daal. Well, of course, I didn’t have all the ingredients, but BigWak doesn’t care! He can usually use what he has and make it just as good and even better! Haha. For those of you who know me well I really don’t like to follow recipes, especially measurement by measurement. Many of the dishes I cook comes from investigating the flavours of each dish I eat and trying to recreate them or modifying them to please my taste. Enough blabber! So here goes the daal from what I found in my cabinet and refrigerator!

You will need:

  • Red lentils
  • lemon
  • cherry tomatoes
  • ginger
  • olive oil
  • sesame oil
  • marjoram
  • dill weed
  • dry rosemary
  • cumin
  • cloves
  • dry basil leaves
  • dry sage
  • ground nutmeg
  • ground cinnamon
  • black peppercorn
  • sea salt
  • paprika
  • or you can use your favourite curry powder
  • garlic
  • onion (yellow or white)
  • ground cayenne pepper

Let’s get started!

  • Boil lentils until soft or mushy (3o min – 40 min)
  • Pulverize dry basil leaves, cloves, cumin, dry rosemary, marjoram, and sage
  • In a small frying pan add some veggie or canola oil (roughly 2 tbsp)
  • Add some chopped garlic (2 – 3 cloves)
  • Two dashes of ground nutmeg and cinnamon
  • Add black peppercorn
  • Add pulverized dry herbs
  • Two pinches of dill weed
  • A dash of paprika
  • Quarter onion (chopped)
  • Add half teaspoon of sesame oil
  • Bring heat to medium and bring it to slight roasted smell
  • Scrape mixture into daal
  • Squeeze quarter lemon into daal
  • Blend 10-15 cherry tomatoes and add them to daal
  • Allow tomatoes to cook into daal (roughly 20 min) or until cooked
  • Taste and add desired salt
  • Add cayenne pepper for desired spiciness

I think that concludes it folks! Enjoy this tasty and healthy meal!!

Cheers!

This entry was posted in: Dinner, Lunch

by

Mechanical Engineer with a passion for the sciences, languages, and the humanities. A huge thirst for knowledge, and eager to help those who are motivated to learn, learn and learn!

Leave a comment